The Covenant Network of Presbyterians is a broad-based, national group of clergy and lay leaders working for a church that is simultaneously faithful, just, and whole. We seek to support the mission and unity of the Presbyterian Church (USA) in a time of potentially divisive controversy. We intend to articulate and act on the church’s historic, progressive vision and to work for a fully inclusive church. We are committed to finding a way both to live out the graciously hospitable gospel we have received and to live together with all our fellow members in the PC(USA).

The Co-Moderators of the Board of Directors are:

Marci Glass, Pastor, Southminster Presbyterian Church, Boise, ID, and
Daniel Vigilante, Pastor, Grace-Trinity Community Church, Minneapolis, MN.

The Board of Directors also includes these church leaders:

  • Tony Aja, Pastor, Westminster Presbyterian Church, Santa Fe, NM
  • Deborah A. Block, Pastor, Immanuel Presbyterian Church, Milwaukee, WI
  • Randy Bush, Pastor, East Liberty Presbyterian Church, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Timothy Cahn, Ruling Elder, Seventh Avenue Presbyterian Church, San Francisco, CA
  • Laura M. Cheifetz, Vice President of Church and Public Relations, Presbyterian Publishing Corporation, Louisville, KY
  • Brian D. Ellison, ex officio, Executive Director, Covenant Network of Presbyterians, Kansas City, MO
  • Sam Evans, Ruling Elder, Fourth Presbyterian Church, Chicago, IL
  • Chad Andrew Herring, Pastor, John Knox Presbyterian Kirk, Kansas City, MO
  • Clifton Kirkpatrick, Visiting Professor of Ecumenical Studies and Global Ministries, Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary, and PC(USA) Stated Clerk Emeritus, Louisville, KY
  • Kenneth E. Kovacs, Pastor, Catonsville Presbyterian Church, Catonsville, MD
  • Joann Lee, Associate Pastor, Calvary Presbyterian Church, San Francisco, CA
  • Kimberly Bracken Long, Associate Professor of Worship, Columbia Theological Seminary, Decatur, GA
  • Carol McDonald, Executive Emerita, Synod of Lincoln Trails, Indianapolis, IN
  • Baron Mullis, Pastor, Morningside Presbyterian Church, Atlanta, GA
  • Vince Patton, Ruling Elder, Central Presbyterian Church, Louisville, KY
  • Joyce Shin, Pastor, Swarthmore Presbyterian Church, Swarthmore, PA
  • Patti Snyder, Pastor, University Presbyterian Church, Baton Rouge, LA
  • Susan Thornton, Director of Christian Education, St. Mark Presbyterian Church, Newport Beach, CA
  • Mieke Vandersall, Pastor, Not So Churchy, New York, NY
  • James Wilson, Ruling Elder, Broad Street Presbyterian Church, Columbus, OH

The Board of Advisors includes these pastors, elders, and theologians:

  • Robert W. Bohl, Founding Co-Moderator, Honorably Retired, Naples, FL; Moderator, 206th General Assembly, PC(USA)
  • John M. Buchanan, Founding Co-Moderator, Honorably Retired, Chicago, IL; Moderator, 208th General Assembly, PC(USA)
  • Joanna M. Adams, Honorably Retired, Atlanta, GA
  • Susan Andrews, Executive Presbyter, Hudson River Presbytery; Moderator, 215th General Assembly, PC(USA)
  • Eugene C. Bay, Pastor Emeritus, Bryn Mawr Presbyterian Church, Bryn Mawr, PA
  • Betsy Britton, Ruling Elder, Setauket Presbyterian Church, Setauket, NY
  • James D. Brown, Honorably Retired, Santa Fe, NM
  • Heidi Calhoun, Interim Pastor, Christ Lutheran Church, Federal Way, WA
  • William Calhoun, Honorably Retired, Denver, CO
  • Cynthia McCall Campbell, President Emerita, McCormick Theological Seminary, and Pastor, Highland Presbyterian Church, Louisville, KY
  • William Capel, Ruling Elder, McKinley Memorial Church, Champaign, IL
  • Kim Clayton, Director, Center for Lifelong Learning, Columbia Theological Seminary, Decatur, GA
  • Jane Dempsey Douglass, Professor Emerita, Princeton Theological Seminary; Past President, World Alliance of Reformed Churches
  • Erika Funk, Associate Pastor, First Presbyterian Church, Charlotte, NC
  • Joseph S. Harvard, Honorably Retired, Durham, NC
  • Cynthia Jarvis, Pastor, Chestnut Hill Presbyterian Church, Philadelphia, PA
  • Kirsten Kingdon, Ruling Elder, Valley Presbyterian Church, Portola Valley, CA
  • William McIvor, Honorably Retired, Sudbury, MA
  • Stephen Montgomery, Pastor, Idlewild Presbyterian Church, Memphis, TN
  • Gay Mothershed, retired Executive Presbyter of West Virginia & Grace Presbyteries, Cross Lanes, WV
  • Harriet Nelson, Honorably Retired, Napa, CA; Moderator, 196th General Assembly, PC(USA)
  • Kent M. Organ, Honorably Retired, Chicago, IL
  • Bruce Reyes-Chow, San Francisco, CA; Moderator, 218th General Assembly, PC(USA)
  • V. Bruce Rigdon, Honorably Retired, Chicago, IL
  • J. Barrie Shepherd, Pastor Emeritus, First Presbyterian Church, New York
  • Ted A. Smith, Associate Professor of Preaching and Ethics, Candler School of Theology, Atlanta, GA
  • Mark Smutny, Pastor, Pasadena Presbyterian Church, Pasadena, CA
  • Laird Stuart, Honorably Retired, Saugatuck, MI
  • Karen Turney, Ruling Elder, Atlanta, GA
  • Herbert D. Valentine, Honorably Retired, Baltimore, MD; Moderator, 203rd General Assembly, PC(USA)
  • Louise Westfall, Pastor, Central Presbyterian Church, Denver, CO
  • K. John Wilkinson, Pastor, Third Presbyterian Church, Rochester, NY
  • Richard Wohlschlaeger, Honorably Retired, Swarthmore, PA

Comments will go through moderation before they are posted. Those wishing to leave a comment must include their full name and a working email address, and all comments must be respectful and civil. Personal, ad hominem, or anonymous comments will not be allowed.